Good news!  Sixteen out of the 43 candidates who gave their individual support for declaring a Climate Emergency were elected on May 2nd.  Five in Brighton & Hove, two in Chichester, seven in Horsham, and two in Worthing.  This doesn’t include a further 10 Lib Dems who pledged support in Horsham as a party group, and all the Labour councillors in West Worthing, Worthing East and Shoreham. This means there will be a strong voice in all four councils for taking decisive action on the climate.

Congratulations to all the candidates who won seats.  They were spread across all four main parties, giving us hope that climate change will be addressed (as it needs to be) as a cross-party issue.  The party breakdown was:  2 Conservatives, 7 Green Party, 4 Labour, and 3 Liberal Democrats

Commiserations to those who didn’t get elected, but thanks for pledging your support for climate action.  We can safely say that climate has never featured more prominently in a local election campaign, and this is thanks to your commitment and efforts.

A list of the successful candidates who’ve given their backing to a climate emergency is included below.  If you are a successful candidate that is not yet on this list, it’s not too late!  Please get in touch by emailing us to confirm you are backing the idea of declaring a Climate Emergency.  If you attach a photo of you holding up a signed pledge card we’ll be delighted add you to the Facebook Album of fame!

Brighton & Hove City Council

Hanover & Elm Grove Ward

David Gibson, Green

Elaine Hills, Green

Hollingdean & Stanmer Ward

Tracey Hill, Labour

Preston Park

Siriol Hugh-Jones, Green

Regency Ward

Tom Druitt, Green

Chichester District Council

Chichester South Ward

  • Sarah Sharp, Green

Chichester East Ward

  • Kevin Hughes, Labour

Horsham District Council

Bramber, Upper Beeding and Woodmancote Ward

  • Mike Croker, Green

Broadbridge Heath Ward

  • Matt Allen, Lib Dem
  • Louise Potter, Lib Dem

Forest Ward

  • David Skipp, Lib Deb

Steyning and Ashurst Ward

  • Tim Lloyd, Conservative
  • Bob Platt, Green

Southwater South and Shipley Ward

  • Ian Stannard, Conservative

Storrington and Washington Ward

  • Jim Monaghan, Labour

Worthing Borough Council

Central Ward

  • Sally Smith, Labour

Heene Ward

  • Helen Silman, Labour


Get your candidates to sign this Pledge Card and send it to us

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This