More and more candidates in the local council elections are getting the message and giving their backing to the idea of declaring a climate emergency.  Not all have signed a pledge card yet – some have preferred to confirm their support in writing.  We’ve made a Facebook Album showing photos of everyone who’s signed the pledge so far.

Here’s a list of the candidates who’ve given their backing so far (updated 30 April):

Arun District Council

East Preston Ward

  • Tony Dines, Labour

Brighton & Hove City Council

Hanover & Elm Grove Ward

Beverley Barstow, Women’s Equality Party

David Gibson, Green

Elaine Hills, Green

Hollingdean & Stanmer Ward

Tracey Hill, Labour

Preston Park

Siriol Hugh-Jones, Green

Regency Ward

Tom Druitt, Green

Brighton & Hove Lib Dems have responded as a group to say they support a Climate Emergency declaration.

Chichester District Council

Chichester South Ward

  • Sarah Sharp, Green

Chichester East Ward

  • Kevin Hughes, Labour

Harbour Villages Ward

  • Jane Turton, Labour

Horsham District Council

Bramber, Upper Beeding and Woodmancote Ward

  • Simon Birnstingl, Labour
  • Mike Croker, Green

Broadbridge Heath Ward

  • Matt Allen, Lib Dem
  • Louise Potter, Lib Dem

Forest Ward

  • David Hide, Labour
  • David Skipp, Lib Deb

Pulborough Ward

  • Jane Mote, Labour

Roffey South Ward

  • Nick Grant, Lib Dem

Steyning and Ashurst Ward

  • Caroline Fife, Labour
  • Lorraine Fowlie, Labour
  • Terry Goodchild, UKIP
  • Dean Haysom, Conservative
  • Tim Lloyd, Conservative
  • Bob Platt, Green

Southwater South and Shipley Ward

  • Ian Stannard, Conservative
  • Jacob Keet, Labour

Storrington and Washington Ward

  • Jim Monaghan, Labour

Trafalgar Ward

  • Karen Symes, Labour
  • Michael Symes, Labour

West Chiltington, Ashington and Thakeham Ward

  • Helen Wright, Labour

Worthing Borough Council

Castle Ward

  • Samuel Theodoridi, Labour
  • Julian Warrick, Green

Central Ward

  • Jo Paul, Green
  • Sally Smith, Labour

Heene Ward

  • Richard Mulholland, Labour
  • Joe Pearce, Green
  • Helen Silman, Labour

Marine Ward

  • Beccy Cooper, Labour
  • Karen North, Green

Salvington Ward

  • Emma Taylor, Labour

Selden ward

  • Mike Barrett, Labour
  • Madeleine Weaver, Green

Tarring ward

  • Dominic Roden, Green

If you’re a candidate and would like to add your name to this list, get in touch by emailing us to confirm you are backing the idea of declaring a Climate Emergency.  If you attach a photo of you holding up a signed pledge card we’ll be delighted add you to the Facebook Album of fame!

Get your candidates to sign this Pledge Card and send it to us



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This